Film Review: Arrival (2016)

arrival-film_image

I got interested to read and watch Arrival (2016) after I saw the trailer. The plot was intriguing from other alien-themed movies. It made me ponder if it was possible to approach extra terrestials with only language as the weapon. To find out more about the plot, I decided to read the story and I was fortunate to receive the book as a gift last Christmas. After reading Ted Chiang’s “Story of Your Life”, the ending got me in a meditative state wherein I tried to make sense with what I just read. It was a thought provoking story that left me dumb.

Arrival was loosely based from that short story but there’s more to it. It’s not your usual sci-fi film wherein aliens attack humans with the objective of occupying Earth. The film is shown from Dr. Louise Banks perspective, an accomplished linguist, hired by the government to decipher how the aliens (called heptapods) communicate. It’s very engaging to watch the ordeal in the film because it’s not an easy job to begin from scratch. It’s a delicate job to begin with since the film also showed how other powerful countries united to know the heptapods’ objective on Earth.

I won’t divulge the story here but I recommend you to watch Arrival 2016. It’s definitely thought provoking and I’ll leave you with a question from Dr. Banks.

Dr. Louise Banks: If you could see your whole life from start to finish, would you change things?

To answer Dr. Banks’, I would want to change things but I won’t because I know these life events happen for a reason. Even if I don’t know what purpose that reason may be. Hurts though.

Leave a Reply

