A Month of Without (June 2016)

Coffee cup - cup of coffee 2 with clipping path
No coffee for 30 days? Oh Nooooo!!!

I was suffering from diarrhea when I suddenly decided not to take coffee for a month sometime first week of June. The false doctor in me diagnosed my illness with too much coffee (which is really not the case). Last year, I attempted to ditch coffee but I only lasted for three days because of withdrawal symptoms. I honestly did not think that I would last for more than three days based from my experience yet I surprised myself even more because until now I have not drank coffee yet. Also, the aroma of coffee smells bad to me and I don’t know why.

Just to be clear, I’m not planning on totally giving it up like with soft drinks but only for a month. So anytime soon I may get to taste coffee again and I’m preparing myself for that special moment.

How did I, a girl who loves black coffee without sugar, survived 30 days without coffee? Simple, drink hot choco or tea instead of coffee. I can’t say that I did not suffer withdrawal symptoms, I did but I got used to it eventually. Also, it helps to be mentally aware of your goal so not having coffee was a strong mantra on my mind that kept me off it.

What did I learn from this exercise? I realized that not having coffee in a month made me save money because I no longer have to visit fancy and expensive coffee shops. It also narrowed my choice of drinks to coffee or tea or juice. Also, it gave me hope that it is possible to live something you really love if you set your mind on it.

Here’s a pat on my back for successfully accomplishing this task and I’m looking forward to more success on other projects. Hehehe. If you’re planning to do the same as I did, hop on. You have my support! šŸ™‚

 

 

Leave a Reply

