Book Review: Gratitude

IMG_20160113_164909

I’m speechless, literally. Reading this book made me think about life and how shallow I am as a person. Oliver Sacks was diagnosed with a terminal illness when he wrote these four essays – “My Own Life”, “My Periodic Table”, “Sabbath”, and “The Joy of Old Age”. It’s a short read yet filled with numerous words of wisdom. In this collection of essays, Sacks made me appreciate life more and inspired me to do something productive with my life. As long as you aspire it, even sickness cannot stop you from doing the things you want to and that is how Oliver Sacks spent his remaining days. He died doing the things he always loved – writing, swimming, and more. Life will always be full of unexpected events but it is in the present that we will learn to live what is given to us.

Rest in peace Oliver Sacks and thank you for your words. Your words will forever resonate to many readers.

“I cannot pretend I am without fear. But my predominant feeling is one of gratitude. I have loved and been loved; I have been given much and I have given something in return; I have read and traveled and thought and written. I have had an intercourse with the world, the special intercourse of writers and readers.”

Oliver Sacks

One thought on “Book Review: Gratitude

Leave a Reply

