Book Review: Crazy Rich Asians

IMG_20160102_204217

One thing I hated about this book is the title – Crazy Rich Asians. Why? Because the book centers around the “secret” Chinese billionaires in Singapore. Kevin Kwan should have titled this Crazy Rich Chinese instead of Asians. I’m that sensitive when it comes to proper segregation of race (IMO).

Anyway, my interest with this book started with a workmate of mine who had high praises for this book. Before that, I also read good reviews about how funny it is. So armed with this thought I had this reserved at a nearby book shop and bought it after they informed me of its availability.

Here’s a brief summary of this book – Nicholas Young invited his girlfriend, Rachel Chu to Singapore for a vacation and also to attend his bestfriend’s wedding. Instead of a vacation, Rachel was thrown to another world that she was totally unprepared for and it will test her relationship with Nick.

Apparently this book is the first of a series and I don’t know if I want to read the second one because my thoughts about this book is a mixed one. Yes, there are parts that are funny and the plot is light. The antagonist are bitchy but in a funny way and there are no heavily laden scenes except for the supposed twist in Rachel’s life.

What I like about this book is that it gives me a different perspective about the exaggerated and grandiose lifestyle of the ultra-mega rich Chinese in Singapore, Hongkong and all parts of the world. I also like that Rachel Chu’s character is not a damsel in distress type of person. I love that not all rich are snob to Rachel. And I love Oliver’s character – he is wicked.

What I do not like aside from the title is Nick’s naivety, Michael’s low self esteem, and Eleanor’s anxiety. My overall verdict for this book is a 3.5/5. It’s funny and light read but the lifestyle of the rich are not in my league.

 

 

One thought on “Book Review: Crazy Rich Asians

Leave a Reply

