Film Review: The Help (2011)

You is kind. You is smart. You is important. – Aibileen Clark

The Help (2011) film is based from Kathryn Stockett’s book of the same title. I have yet to read the book but I prefer to watch the movies first before reading the book now so I can’t compare both. Although I will have to sacrifice the spoilers presented in the book. However, I’ve come into terms with myself that the film adaptation will be presented differently due to some obvious factors such as the limited time.

I enjoyed watching the movie. I have a dramatic flair and I cried a number of times due to the way these “colored” people are treated just because of the color of their skin. It may sound absurd now because its a different era but racism is still present, it’s not yet fully abolished. The movie is a mixture of comedy and drama so it is not that painful to watch. It’s just me who’s getting too emotional on some things.

Anyways, back to the movie – I love the premise of the film wherein a would be journalist finds a topic to write on that mainly revolves on the helpers’ experiences with their masters. The film is set in the early 1960’s at Jackson, MississippiΒ and just to give you a brief background it was during this era that Martin Luther King Jr started his campaign for freedom of equality between whites and blacks.

This is one entertaining movie to watch and will make you think as well that it also talks about the hired helps in general. From my point of view, I know a number of overseas workers from the Philippines working as hired help in different countries. These domestic workers are also being discriminated by their race and the lowly status of their jobs yet they have given a lot and suffered a lot. In exchange for money, they risked a lot just to provide clothing, food, and money for their families. It is sad yet true.

Aibilene , Minny, and the rest of the maids in The Help also represent my fellow Filipino domestic workers working in the Philippines and in other countries. Β I look forward for something like this adapted in my country not just to entertain people but to open the eyes to what is real.

Leave a Reply

