Book Review: The Story of My Life

516ijxiosjl_1_

So I try to make the light in others’ eyes my sun, the music in others’ ears my symphony, the smile on others’ lips my happiness.

Helen Keller’s story is mundane. She’s just like everybody else who loves to read books, watch theater, listen to operas, study lessons, and talk to people. Except that she is both blind and deaf. She is no ordinary person to have accomplished these activities. No wonder she is a highly regarded persona for overcoming her disabilities and for being a role model to other people with disabilities.

This is a a very motivating book to read and will make you think twice about your own capabilities. My life is very much ordinary compared to hers. I have complete senses yet I am not able to maximize the use of it because I’m too lazy. As compared to Helen Keller who with hard work and perseverance managed to go to college with other normal people at Radcliffe and obtained a degree. Heck, she can even describe her surroundings like she’s not blind.

I truly admire her and how she stood up against all odds. I also will not forget her teacher, MIss Anne Sullivan who made all Helen’s aspirations came true.

 

 

One thought on “Book Review: The Story of My Life

Leave a Reply

